Skip to content

Art and the brain

August 15, 2012
tags: ,

Painting is the closest I come to meditation…..it is focused, silent and takes time and continuous practice. This painting of my grandson was started when he was 4 years old…..I have just finished it and he is now 11 years old. I kept putting it away as it was so difficult to express more than a simple likeness.  I cannot know if the painting expresses by itself what I feel as I paint…tenderness, hope and love. His elder brother Harry said to him at the time, “You’re making a fire-truck”. “I AM making a fia-twuck”, he replied. I have captured a moment in time , a rich memory as I paint.

Life got in the way but it was finished eventually….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2012 1:48 am

    Sublime! The colour use in this portrait is beautiful. It looks like differed completion must have been a good idea, because this turned out really well. Nice work, really nice.

    • October 15, 2012 12:48 pm

      Thanks Ian,
      I think the screen colour and the reduced size does the painting more than justice!
      Still I really enjoyed finishing it eventually
      Margaret

Leave a Reply

